Commission board of Directors

Commission board of Directors
The Board of the U.S.- Italy Fulbright Commission is composed of 12 members, 6 Americans and 6 Italians.
The positions of Chair and Vice Chair rotate each year between a representative of the Italian Government and a representative of the Government of the United States.


Filippo La Rosa

Minister Plenipotentiary, Director General/Principal Director for the promotion of the Italian Culture and Language. Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.

Italian Members

  • Federica Olivares

    President​ ​Edizioni Olivares

  • Giovanni Antonino Puglisi

    Rector, University of Enna Kore. Vice-President, Enciclopedia Italiana Treccani

  • Gianni Riotta

    Columnist​ ​at​La Stampa. ​Member of the Advisory Council ​of the Dept of Italian and French of Princeton University and of the Council of Foreign Affairs

  • Maria Letizia Santangelo

    Embassy Counselor. ​Head of the Unit for Northern America, Directorate-General for Political Affairs and Security at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation​​

  • Ing. Francesco Starace

    Partner, EQT Infrastructure

  • Federica Olivares

    Professor of Public and Cultural Diplomacy

Vice Chair

Karen Shinnerer

Cultural Affairs Officer Embassy of the United States of America in Italy.

U.S. Members

  • Timothy Martin

    Adjunct Professor of Music. American University of Rome.

  • William Marvin

    Financial Officer – Treasury Operation branch. United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

  • William B. McGurn III

    Senior Counsel. Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP.

  • Aliza S. Wong

    Director. American Academy in Rome.

  • Christina Tomlison

    Minister Counselor for Public Affairs. U.S. Embassy to Italy