Commission Board of Directors

The Board of the U.S.- Italy Fulbright Commission is composed of 12 members, 6 Americans and 6 Italians.
The positions of Chair and Vice Chair rotate each year between a representative of the Italian Government and a representative of the Government of the United States.


Roberto Vellano

Vice General Director, Directorate-Central for the Promotion of the Italian Language and Culture
Directorate-General for the Country Promotion, 
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation


Italian Members

  •  Cons. Maria Letizia Santangelo
    Head of the Unit for Northern America, Directorate-General for Political Affairs and Security at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  • Federica Olivares
    Professor of Cultural Diplomacy. Director, Program in Cultural Diplomacy at Università Cattolica. Member of the Board, Casa italiana at NYU. Council for the Arts at MIT.
  • Giovanni Antonino Puglisi
    Rector, University of Enna Kore.  Vice-President, Enciclopedia Italiana Treccani
  • Gianni Riotta
    Journalist, Writer, Professor at LUISS School of Government
  • Francesco Starace
    Chief Executive Officer and General Manager  Enel Spa 


Vice Chair

Rodney Ford

Cultural Attaché, Cultural Affairs Officer
Embassy of the United States of America in Italy




U.S. Members

  • Beth Poisson
    Minister Counselor for Public Affairs Embassy of the United States of America in Italy
  • William Marvin
    Head, Global Financial Operations  United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
  • William B. McGurn III
    Senior Counsel, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
  • John Ochsendorf
    Director, American Academy in Rome
  • Elizabeth Marie Robinson
    President, NicOx Research Institute